Day 13: Euro adventure – the trip to Versailles

Remy’s gone back to work so I’m left to my own devices today. I had already booked a half day tour to Versailles on the internet and I wish I had booked a full day instead.

Versailles became the capital of France and took 49 years to build. It was originally a swampy hunting ground with a simple hunting lodge for King Louis XIV but he was like, nah bro let’s get this place looking swaggy. And then moved the royal family from the Louvre and the inhabitants of Paris to Versailles. Because when you’re the king, why the hell not?

image

image

Eyyyy Louis

image

Zeus and Herc

I loved this tour. I can’t get enough of European history especially when it comes to monarchies. Learning about the rituals they faced every day, the strategy behind their decisions, their stories up until their deaths – I’m like a kid in a candy store. Plus Versailles itself is just ridiculous. I try so hard to imagine what it would have been like to live in this place, how large and grand it all was. It boggles the mind.

image

Hall of Mirrors

image

Queen's bed

The palace grounds are immaculate. There’s gold everywhere. There’s no point me writing about it – you just have to see it for yourself! Thousands of people used to visit the palace and every room had an activity, whether it was dancing, drinking, eating, billiards, listening to music – anything to keep the people entertained to prevent conspiring against the royal family.

image

Selfie game is terrible

Pro tip: don’t drive in Paris. Unless you really, really like sitting in a stationary vehicle.

I headed on over to Bistrot Victoires for a cheap feed as recommended by the interwebs. I actually wanted to try Foyer de la Madeleine which sounded crazy cheap and awesome plus the money earned goes to the less fortunate. It closed at 2pm though and thanks to the traffic, I missed it. Someone please try it for me when they’re in Paris!

I really tried to get something different but I got duck confit again. I really, really like duck. Really.

image

image

Instead of going to the Concierge where many people were held before being executed by guillotine (this included Marie Antoinette), I thought I’d give the death theme a break and chill at Parc Buttes-Chaumont. Such a beautiful park – it didn’t seem possible that this place could exist in a city. It was bloody hilly and there were large bridges and even a waterfall. I sat and read The Little Prince before heading back to the burbs to stay with my aunt.

image

And so ends my time in Paris. Just a day or so left in France, spending time with family and visiting Giverny – the home of Monet’s garden. I’m pooped.

Leave a comment