Day 14: Euro adventure – Monet’s garden in Giverny

I’m very fortunate to have family living in France. They have been so good to me, showing me around, paying for things even when I beat them to it (not cool, guys) but having someone drive me to places I probably wouldn’t be able to visit unless I booked a full day tour has been great. Today we headed to Giverny in the Normandy region to see Monet’s house and garden.

Firstly how do French people eat so much bread, potatoes, cheese and pastries and stay thin? I’ve never eaten this much bread in my life. I’m all carbed out (that’s a lie)!

Strolling through parts of the Giverny garden is free but getting into the Monet area is about 9.50€. His house is quite big! It would cost a fortune nowadays with that many rooms and that size. The garden in which the house sits is magnificent. So many beautiful colours and shapes, it was like a postcard. Picture perfect. Again, you couldn’t take a bad picture.

image

image

image

Of course, the main event is his water garden where he painted his famous Water-Lillies. What a magical place it is. It’s no wonder he was inspired to bring that piece to life. A lot of his work and impressionist work has been influenced by Japanese art, interestingly enough.

image

At the moment there is a Degas exhibition in the gardens which cost 7€ to view. Another notable impressionist, Degas focused a lot on movement especially that of horses and dancers. This was in response to the rise of photography which he dabbled in as well. I loved all of his work revolving around dancers. It’s amazing how he was able to bring the fluidity and grace of a ballerina to life through his paintings. So talented.

I like impressionism. To me, it’s like an organised chaos. There’s something frenetic about the strokes yet when it all comes together, it’s so incredibly detailed. The shadows, the lines, the movement, the expressions – it’s remarkable.

Also I had for lunch a Toulouse sausage with baked potatoes. French food agrees with me 😂 and I visited Monet’s grave. It really has been death-heavy, this France trip. I think my family think I’m a little disturbed.

image

We headed home after I took a bajillion photos of flowers and tried to chase down a photo with a bee in it (sort of got it). The visit to Giverny has left me feeling very inspired. I can’t paint or draw to save my life, but in terms of seeing the world and its beauty rather than focusing on the things that bring us down. The gardens along with reading The Little Prince drives home that even though “matters of consequence” are important, it’s equally as important to revel in adventures, imagination and creativity, and look at life more positively. La Vie en rose.

Lack of photos due to phone overheating. Good stuff.

2 thoughts on “Day 14: Euro adventure – Monet’s garden in Giverny

Leave a comment